Free songs
Don't Miss
Home / NEWS / Alban Bagbin elected Speaker of 8th Parliament of Ghana
Alban Bagbin elected Speaker of 8th Parliament of Ghana

Alban Bagbin elected Speaker of 8th Parliament of Ghana

The former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo and a member of the opposition National Democratic Congress, Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin has been elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament. 

Mr. Bagbin, who was the Second Deputy Speaker in the previous Parliament won the elections against his only contender, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) proposed Alban Bagbin as their choice candidate for the Speaker of Parliament while the New Patriotic Party (NPP) proposed Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye who served as Speaker for the 7th Parliament; 2017 to 2021.

Newly Sworn in Speaker of Parliament Honorable Alban Bagbin in Photo.

The election of Bagbin was not without controversy as several alien incidents characterized the night including the invasion of military personnel into the parliamentary chamber.

Earlier, the NDC Members of Parliament, clad in white, moved to sit on the right side of the Speaker to indicate they were in the majority which sparked serious controversy.

Later the issue of allowing the MP-elect for Assin North, Richard Quayson to vote in the election came up strongly as the Clerk who superintended over the voting process indicated that he would not allow him to cast his ballot because a court injunction had been granted to bar him from holding himself out as the MP.

That issue was resolved and the NDC MP allowed to vote subsequently.

During the counting of the ballots, the Member of Parliament for Tema West and former Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry ran to the table and snatched the uncounted ballots of Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye and attempted to bolt with them.

It was such a devastating moment when the NDC MP for Asawase, Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak immediately went after him and secured the ballots.

After a long break to calm the arousing situation in the house, Mr. Alban Bagbin was sworn in as the 8th Speaker of the Parliament of Ghana.

About Dela Akafia

Dela Akafia
Creative Director, Blogger and Content Producer at 12Frames Studios. Studied Screenplay/ Film and Television Directing at National Film and Television Institute NAFTI. Freelance Film and Television Director.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Open chat
Send us your stories!